4 Comments

You had me responding positively to your comments until you said you could break something down, so that “no matter how old you are”, you can understand it. I realize that we live in a youth culture in which many younger people look down on older people, assuming that they don’t understand anything that is going on because they are mentally impaired. It happens, but the vast number of older people are not mentally impaired. I think the breakdown of understanding is how much one pays attention to what’s going on, the degree to which one reads well researched journalism that attempts to be as objective as possible, the degree to which a person is more interested in the facts behind the headlines than finding cliches that “prove their tribes take on the political point is correct”, ones culture, education & willingness to address issue of life & politics using critical thinking, rather than what those in their tribe agree with & the list goes on. I’ll stay with other objective news sources that haven’t shown disrespect for older people. If you prove you can write respectfully of older people, some of whom follow the issues more deeply & understand them better than many young people I’ve had conversations with, I’ll give you a second chance. We all make mistakes based on assumptions that have been passed down to us, sometimes by family, the culture or other influences in our lives. Now I’ll get off my soapbox. Have a good day.

Expand full comment